Our History

SwimmingSA was first established as the South Australian Amateur Swimming Association in 1898 as an Incorporated Association and is the peak body for competitive swimming in South Australia. Today SwimmingSA continues to provide services and strategic direction for the members of the sport in SA. Our current Vision is "Swimming will be successful and sustainable in South Australia" and Mission is "To provide a strategic pathway leading to increased participation and athletic achievement for South Australians committed to the sport of swimming". The Current Strategic Plan is available here

Swimming in South Australia's history is recognised and remembered in many ways from Club Awards to State and National recognition. Below you will find the many forms of recognition SwimmingSA provides.

Hall of Fame & Honour Board

  • Hall of Fame
  • Launched on January 25th 2008, the SwimmingSA Hall of Fame had 19 inaugural inductees.

    The Hall of Fame recognises South Australian elite swimmers and coaches who have represented Australia at Olympic Games or Commonwealth Games. 

    Highlights of our latest inductees can be seen by clicking on the video below.

    Bio Information on the Hall of Fame Inductees - Click Here

    List of Hall of Fame Inductees - Click Here


  • Honour Board
  • Located at the SA Aquatic & Leisure Centre the SwimmingSA Honour Board recognises South Australian Athletes who have represented the State at Olympic, Paralympic and Commonwealth Games and World Championships.

    (Insert Honour Board Photo) 

    For Current Members Click Here

Life Membership, Award of Merit & Service Awards

  • Life Members
  • Conferred by Special Resolution at an Annual General Meeting, Life Membership of SwimmingSA is awarded to people who have provided long and meritorious service with SwimmingSA.

    The people below have been appointed Life Members in recognition of their efforts in furthering the interests of SwimmingSA. Nominations for Life Membership will be considered annually by the Board of SwimmingSA.

    Click Here for the Life Membership Policy

    Click Here for the List of Life Members

  • Merit Award Holders
  • Conferred twice annually (at the AGM for metropolitan clubs and at the Country Championships for Country clubs) this award is designed to recognise outstanding service to SwimmingSA in excess of the requirements for a Service Award but in a narrower field of activity than would be required for the award of Life Membership. Such dedication includes service as:

    • A member of the Board
    • Administrative Official
    • Member of a Committee or Sub-committee
    • Technical Official

    The important factors taken into account are the length of service and the level, quality and quantity of that service) and/or outstanding achievements as a competitor or a coach.

    Click Here for the Merit Award Policy

    Click Here for the List of Merit Award Recipients 

  • Service Awards
  • This award is designed to recognise service with Swimming SA or a Member for a period of not less than seven (7) years. Such service would be as a member of the Board, Administrative Official or member of a Committee or Subcommittee, Qualified Technical Official, Committee Member of a Member or any other service to Swimming SA or a Member, or any combination of the above, over such a period of time and to such a level of involvement as is considered commensurate with the above. The standard or level of service required is the routine performance of the function of the office(s) over the required period, e.g. service as a Technical Official requires reasonably regular attendance at carnivals and Swimming SA meets. 

    Nominations for a Service Award can be made by a Member, signed by the President and Secretary, or by two Registered Members or by any two Directors of Swimming SA. Nominations for the Service Award, on the "Nomination for Service Award/Award of Merit" form, must be submitted to SwimmingSA prior to October 1st Annually and after consideration and any necessary investigation by the General Manager, the nominations will be submitted to and will be considered at the October Board meeting in each year.

    Click Here for the List of Service Award Recipients

Club of The Year

  • Criteria & Application Process
  • Annually the SwimmingSA Chairman awards a club of the year.  

    This prestigeous award is assessed against a number of guidelines including and not limited to Membership, Club Corporate Governance/Compliance, Technical Officials, SwimmingSA Office Interactions, Athletes, Coaches and Community Involvement & Promotion of the Club.

    For the Club of the Year Policy and Application Information - Click Here


  • Current Recipient
  • Year: 2018-19

    Club Name: Barossa Swimming Club

    SwimmingSA is pleased to announce Barossa Swimming Club as the Club of the Year for the 2018/19 season.  This is a great achievement by Barossa since the club formed in 2017.

    Barossa Swimming Club strives to achieve its stated aim of establishing swimming as a sport of choice in the Barossa region.

    During the 2018/19 season and since the club’s incorporation, Barossa has been “making waves” as a club as well as building its profile within the local Barossa and swimming community.  In just its second year of existence the club has:

    • Established a membership of over 50 members with growing interest
    • Recognised performances of athletes at SwimmingSA & National Competitions
    • Developed a base of accredited Coaches and Technical Officials (also seen a Coach & Technical Official being selected to participate in various local and state development opportunities)
    • Proactively built its brand through various media streams

    Awarded annually the Club of the Year Award is judged by the Chairman of SwimmingSA and recognises the most successful club in the areas of membership, corporate governance, officiating, athletic performance, coaching and community.

    In its two years of existence, the club has become well connected with local businesses resulting in accumulating 10 major sponsors over a range of levels supporting the clubs growth.   One such supporter of the club is Patron and Local State Member of Parliament, Stephen Knoll, who has recognised the efforts of the club in a parliamentary address.

    “When we first proposed the re-launch of a swimming club in the Barossa we had a very clear vision of the culture and purpose we wanted to found”, said Club President Stephen Cook.  “We were in the fortunate position of being able to set this from the outset”.

    “Our aim was to not only provide excellence in the swimming program but develop great young people, add value to our local community and also to contribute to the wider South Australian swimming community”, Cook said.  “It is very gratifying that SwimmingSA have recognised this in presenting the award and the award recognises that through the dedication of its members the smaller and newer clubs can still make an impact“. 

    For the Full Announcement - Click Here

  • Previous Recipients
  • Click Here for the List of Previous Club of the Year Winners 

Perpetual Trophies

Was this page helpful?yesno

Thanks for your feedback.

Go back to top